Tuesday, 7 August 2012

Young Foxes XI seen-off by Dynamo

A youthful Leicester City side was beaten yesterday when they travelled to Loughborough Dynamo in this season's Westerby Cup Winners' Cup match.

Of the City squad which travelled to Nanpantan Sports Ground, only Adam Smith, George Taft and Tom Hopper have made it into a first team selection but, despite their inexperience, only a penalty from the Moes' Matt Langham separated the sides at full time.

The young Foxes could have been level despite that first-half setback, however, and skipper Taft put the ball in the back of the net with a towering header before half time after a terrific corner from academy prospect Michael Cain. Taft's efforts were in vain though, Cain's inswinging delivery adjudged to have curled out of play en-route to the penalty area.

The match was not all bad news, however, with the Foxes performing brightly in front of manager Nigel Pearson and the momentum swinging in their favour in the build-up to Taft's disallowed header.

Pearson will be hoping for a result this evening, however, with a strong squad travelling south of the county border to take on Nuneaton Town (KO 19:30). Jermaine Beckford, Martyn Waghorn and Marko Futacs are expected to feature at Liberty Way, alongside young professionals Cian Bolger, Tom Parkes and Harry Panayiotou who did not play in Loughborough. Tickets for tonight's fixture start at £8 for adults, with a further £2 supplement for seating. Children's tickets are just £2 and concessions £5 and Leicester City have suggested that travelling supporters park on the Attenborough Fields industrial estate.
Post a Comment